Overview
The Private Tasks feature allows provider-side project participants to hide specific internal delivery tasks from client-side participants. When a task is marked as Private, all task details (including names and dates) become completely invisible to clients, allowing teams to manage confidential execution steps and client-facing milestones in a single project workspace.
Task privacy settings extend to notifications, search, filters, and exported files. If a single task is set to private in a project, the Gantt tab is hidden and the WBS column cannot be added to Task Tracker.
All public tasks can have both private and public subtasks, however, a private task can only have subtasks that are also private. To change task privacy settings for a task, you must have Project Permissions to set task privacy and be on the Provider side of a project.
How to Set Task Privacy in Task Tracker
- In the project workspace, select the Task Tracker tab.
-
Locate the task you want to change privacy for.
Note: You can also use the Privacy bulk action to change the task privacy of multiple tasks at once. For more information see, Task Tracker Bulk Actions. - In the Task Privacy column, click the Globe icon to change a task to private. The Task Privacy change reflects in the task and in any subtasks.
- In the Task Privacy column, click the Lock icon to change your task to public. The Task Privacy change reflects in the task.
How to Set Task Privacy from the Task Side Panel
- Depending on where you are in Kantata OX, open the Task side panel by either clicking the Side Panel icon or clicking on a task name.
- In the Details section, locate the Task Privacy setting.
- To set the task to private, click Private. This task and any of its subtasks are now hidden from all clients.
- To set the task to public, click Public.
-
In the Update Task Privacy modal that appears, select Update to confirm that you want this task to be visible to all users on the client side. The task is now visible to clients.
Note: When changing a task from Public to Private, all of its subtasks are set to Private and you cannot make the subtasks Public. When changing a task from Private to Public, all of its subtasks keep their previous Private setting until manually changed to Public.
This is done to avoid accidentally exposing tasks that should remain hidden on the Client side of a project.
How to Make All New Tasks Private by Default
-
Go to the project that you want to modify.
Note: You can also set all new tasks to private during project creation. By default, the checkbox is not selected, resulting in all new tasks being public upon creation. - In the project workspace header, click the Actions icon, then select Settings.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the General section, then select Set all new tasks to private.
- In the top-right, click Update Project. All tasks created after this action is completed will be set to private.
-
If desired, you can set existing tasks to private as well using the Privacy bulk action in Task Tracker.
Note: You can also modify individual tasks from the Task Privacy section in the Task side panel or the Task Privacy column in Task Tracker.
How to Set Task Privacy in Project Templates
-
In the left navigation, click Templates, and then select the desired template on the Project Templates page.
Note: You can also set task privacy when creating a new template. - In the Tasks tab, locate the task you want to update task privacy for.
-
In the Actions column, click the Globe icon. The icon updates to a Lock icon, indicating that it is now private.
Note: All subtasks will also update to the Lock icon, as they are required to be private when a parent task is private. -
In the Actions column, click the Lock icon. The icon updates to a Globe icon, indicating that it is now public.
Note: When applying a template to a project that has Set all new tasks to private selected in the project settings, the template settings for task privacy are respected for the newly created tasks.
Comments
1 comment
This new article includes information on Private Tasks.
Please sign in to leave a comment.